Skip navigation

The possibility of the impossible, dreams and illusions, are the subject of my novels.
Jose Saramago
Every man has his own patch of earth to cultivate. What’s important is that he dig deep.
Jose Saramago
I was not born for all this glory.
Jose Saramago
On winning Nobel Prize for Literature 1998.
The apprentice thought, “we are blind”, and he sat down and wrote Blindness to remind those who might read it that we pervert reason when we humiliate life, that human dignity is insulted every day by the powerful of our world, that the universal lie has replaced the plural truths, that man stopped respecting himself when he lost the respect due to his fellow-creatures.
Jose Saramago
On writing novel Blindness, Nobel Prize for Literature acceptence speech, 1998.
In one sense it could even be said that, letter-by-letter, word-by-word, page-by-page, book after book, I have been successively implanting in the man I was the characters I created. I believe that without them I wouldn’t be the person I am today; without them maybe my life wouldn’t have succeeded in becoming more than an inexact sketch, a promise that like so many others remained only a promise, the existence of someone who maybe might have been but in the end could not manage to be.
Jose Saramago
Nobel lecture, 1998.
The painter paints, the musician makes music, the novelist writes novels. But I believe that we all have some influence, not because of the fact that one is an artist, but because we are citizens. As citizens, we all have an obligation to intervene and become involved, it’s the citizen who changes things. I can’t imagine myself outside any kind of social or political involvement. Yes, I’m a writer, but I live in this world and my writing doesn’t exist on a separate level. And if people know who I am and read my books, well, good; that way, if I have something more to say, then everyone benefits.
Jose Saramago
The Observer newspaper UK, May 2006.
I am not a bad person. I hurt only with my tongue!
Jose Saramago
We live in a dark age, when freedoms are diminishing, when there is no space for criticism, when totalitarianism — the totalitarianism of multinational corporations, of the marketplace — no longer even needs an ideology, and religious intolerance is on the rise. Orwell’s ‘1984’ is already here.
Jose Saramago
New York Times, 2007.
I don’t think we did go blind, I think we are blind, Blind but seeing, Blind people who can see, but do not see.
Jose Saramago
Blindness.
Just as well that we are still capable of weeping, tears are often our salvation, there are times when we would die if we did not weep.
Jose Saramago
Blindness.
For dignity has no price, that when someone starts making small concessions, in the end, life loses all meaning.
Jose Saramago
Blindness.
Just like everything else in life, let time take its course and it will find a solution.
Jose Saramago
Blindness.
Inside us there is something that has no name, that something is what we are.
Jose Saramago
Blindness.
Blind people do not need a name, I am my voice, nothing else matters.
Jose Saramago
Blindness.
The difficult thing isn’t living with other people, it’s understanding them.
Jose Saramago
Blindness.
I think we are blind, Blind but seeing, Blind people who can see, but do not see.
Jose Saramago
Blindness.
There are times when it is best to be content with what one has, so as not to lose everything.
Jose Saramago
The Double.
In the end we discover the only condition for living is to die.
Jose Saramago
On his 2005 novel Death With Interruptions, which depicts Death as woman who goes on strike because she is fed up with being hated by people.
All my books without exception deal with the improbable and the impossible.
Jose Saramago
The novel is not so much a literary genre, but a literary space, like a sea that is filled by many rivers.
Jose Saramago
Words were not given to man in order to conceal his thoughts.
Jose Saramago
What kind of world is this that can send machines to Mars and does nothing to stop the killing of a human being?
Jose Saramago
Americans have discovered the fragility of life, that ominous fragility that the rest of the world either already experienced or is experiencing now with terrible intensity.
Jose Saramago
On how September 11 changed the world.
Americans have discovered fear.
Jose Saramago
On September 11 terrorist attack.
We use words to understand each other and even, sometimes, to find each other.
Jose Saramago
Some people spend their entire lives reading but never get beyond reading the words on the page, they don’t understand that the words are merely stepping stones placed across a fast-flowing river, and the reason they’re there is so that we can reach the farther shore, it’s the other side that matters.
Jose Saramago
Human vocabulary is still not capable, and probably never will be of knowing, recognizing, and communicating everything that can be humanly experienced and felt.
Jose Saramago
All the scheming and plotting in the world won’t result in something lasting, transcendent. Anything that’s authentic, that’s real, comes in the form of a gift. Even if by accident.
Jose Saramago
Perhaps it is the language that chooses the writers it needs, making use of them so that each might express a tiny part of what it is.
Jose Saramago
I don’t trust television, unless I can see things with these eyes of mine that the earth will one day devour, I don’t believe in them.
Jose Saramago
Character in The Stone Raft.
This is how everyone has to begin, men who have never known a woman, women who have never known a man, until the day comes for the one who knows to teach the one who does not.
Jose Saramago
Mary in The Gospel According to Jesus Christ.
If my grandfather had been a rich landowner and not an illiterate pig breeder, I wouldn’t be the man I am today. If I could choose my own background — even with the cold of the winters, the heat of the summers, sometimes going hungry — I wouldn’t change a thing.
Jose Saramago
Jose Saramago is a Portuguese writer who was born on November 16, 1922. He was awarded the Nobel Prize for literature in 1998. He died on June 18, 2010.

Leave a Reply

